The Working Community of the Pyrenees (CTP, by its Spanish and French acronym) is a cross-border, inter-territorial organisation created in 1983 with the support of the Council of Europe.

The CTP is made up of the French regions of Nouvelle-Aquitaine and Occitanie; the Principality of Andorra; and the Spanish Autonomous Communities of Catalonia, Aragon, Navarre and the Basque Country.

The territory of the CTP is characterised by a border that is essentially mountainous with the Pyrenean massif as a physical barrier, running from the Atlantic to the Mediterranean coast.

 Total population : 23,492,434 inhabitants.

  Surface area : 254.776 km2

  Kilometres of border : 656 km

  Kilometres of coastline : 2.062 km

  Languages spoken in the territory: Spanish, French, Catalan, Basque, Occitan, Aragonese and Poitevin-Saintongeais.

What we do

The CTP works mainly with two instruments:

  1. Interreg V-A Spain-France-Andorra Programme (POCTEFA 2014-2020) ( for which it is the Managing Authority, as it was for the previous programme (POCTEFA 2007-2013) and will be for the next one (POCTEFA 2021-2027).
  2. The Pyrenean Strategy. The CTP has been working since 2016 on the Pyrenean Strategy, which was signed in November 2018. It is the action plan for the territory until 2024 and to this strategy belong emblematic projects of the CTP such as the Pyrenean Climate Change Observatory, the B-Solutions health project “When medical emergencies erase borders” or the Erasmus+ project “Pyrenean Youth”.

Since 1983, the CTP has worked to improve the lives of the inhabitants of the Pyrenees through the projects it has promoted.

Current projects

The Working Community of the Pyrenees manages or is currently involved in the following cooperation projects:

CTP’s first call for micro-projects

It is foreseen that the CTP launches its first call cooperation micro-projects, with the aim to enhance cross-border cooperation in the Pyrenees among actors that have traditionally had difficulties accessing bigger programmes such as Interreg.

Organisation of the Working Community of the Pyrenees


The presidency of the Working Community of the Pyrenees is a rotating position that changes every two years.

The aim of the presidency is to promote, in close collaboration with the member territories of the CTP, the implementation of structural projects aimed at promoting the economic and social development of the Pyrenean area and the coastal areas that form part of the territory of the Working Community of the Pyrenees. The President represents the CTP and convenes and chairs the Plenary which meets once a year.

The order of rotation is as follows: Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Aragon, Catalonia, Euskadi, Occitanie, Navarre, Principality of Andorra.

For the period 2019-2021, Catalonia occupies the presidency of the Working Community of the Pyrenees. The current president of the Working Community of the Pyrenees is Mr Pere Aragonès i Garcia, President de la Generalitat de Catalunya. More information on the current presidency is available here.

The General Secretariat

It reports to the Presidency and its task is to organise the meetings of the Executive Committee and to monitor the actions undertaken by the CTP and its financial situation. It is made up of a Secretary General, appointed by the President in office. Ms Rosa Amorós i Capdevila is the current CTP’s Secretary General.

The Executive Committee

This is the decision-making body of the CTP and is made up of one titular and one substitute representative from each territory. It coordinates and is responsible for implementing the programme of actions of the presidency.

This page is a summary of the CTP’s website in its official languages (Spanish, French, Catalan, Euskera and Occitan). More information about the CTP is available in those languages.